BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2018 – Winner Odds

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award is a ceremony which awards the best sportsperson in Britain at the end of each year. The sportsperson must be British or reside in the UK and do most of their activities there. The winner is determined through a public vote from a pre-determined set of finalists. The BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award is considered the most prestigious sports award in the UK.

The ceremony started in 1954, when Paul Fox, the editor at Sportsview magazine, had an idea about awarding the best sportspersons in the UK for each year. The first ceremony was held in 1954 as part of Sportsview magazine. At the time, the awards were restricted to athletes who featured in the magazine that year, a rule which later changed. Postcards were used to send the first votes, with the rules being announced on a radio show. The inaugural award was won by Roger Bannister and Christopher Chataway, two successful British middle-distance runners. The show was renamed to Sports Review of the Year the next year and received much wider acclaim.

The award was won a record three times by tennis player Andy Murray, with legendary Formula 1 drivers Damon Hill and Nigel Mansell winning it twice. The most recent sportsperson to win the award is Sir Mo Sarah, England’s most successful distance runner of all time. This year’s award ceremony will be held at the Echo Arena in Liverpool and is expected to be very exciting as it features a long list of sportspersons who fully deserve the award.


EnergyBet is a newcomer in the British betting industry and has done pretty well in the crowded market so far. There’s an incredible amount of sports you can pick from as well as equally impressive sporting markets. The odds are quite competitive as well, which makes EnergyBet a great option for your punting.

For this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year award, EnergyBet favours Tottenham Hotspur and England striker Harry Kane, giving him odds of 27/20. Next on the list is Anthony Joshua who has managed to unify all boxing heavyweight titles in 2018 – his odds stand at 7/2. Lizzy Yarnold is in front of Lewis Hamilton with odds of 12/1 vs. 16/1, while road racing cyclist Chris Froome stands at 20/1.

2017 Wimbledon semi-finalist Johanna Konta is being given odds of 25/1, just like 3-time BBC Sports Personality of the Year award winner Andy Murray. Last year’s winner Mo Farah stands at 66/1, with golfer Matthew Fitzpatrick being the unlikeliest winner with odds of 100/1.


LV BET is a European bookie based in Malta which operates in the UK thanks to a license issued by the UK Gambling Commission. It is one of the most popular bookies in Europe, and there are many reasons why. The welcome bonus is generous, the odds are great and you get to pick from a huge selection of sports which are enough to satisfy every punter’s appetite.

Again, Harry Kane is the major favourite with odds of 27/20 after a great season with Tottenham Hotspur in which he scored 30 goals in the Premier League. Boxer Anthony Joshua is behind England’s deadly striker with odds of 7/2 and is followed by skeleton racer Lizzy Yarnold with 12/1. British Formula 1 racer and current world champion Lewis Hamilton comes next with odds of 16/1.

Tennis players Andy Murray and Johanna Konta share odds of 25/1 and are right in front of swimmer Adam Peaty with odds of 33/1, which he shares with players such as Dele Alli. Snooker legend Ronnie O’Sullivan is being given odds of 50/1, just like golfer Tommy Fleetwood and Manchester United’s teenage sensation Marcus Rashford.


BetEast is a major online bookie in Asia which expanded their business in the UK in 2014. Striking a few sponsorships deals with clubs such as Swansea City, BetEast became a household name across the UK, offering a huge number of sporting markets and competitive odds. The bookmaker has a generous welcome offer and great promos as well, making it a favourite of thousands.

BetEast has great odds for this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year award. Harry Kane is the favourite with odds of 8/5 and is followed by Anthony Joshua with 2/1 odds. Surprisingly, Lizzy Yarnold, the popular British skeleton racer comes third on the list, with odds of 9/1. Golfer Rory McIlroy comes fourth with odds of 11/1 right in front of Andy Murray with 14/1 and Lewis Hamilton with 18/1, which he shares with Ronnie O’Sullivan and Johanna Konta.

Chris Froome is the closest sportsperson to this group of favourites with odds of 20/1. Below him, none of the other players are given has big chances of winning this year’s award.


Commonly known as Newcastle United‘s shirt sponsor, Fun88 has been one of the most popular bookies in the UK in recent times. The site features numerous sporting markets to bet on and has attractive odds for all punters. There might not be a promo offer, but Fun88 features a few great specials which you should definitely take a look at.

Just like Bet East, Fun88 favours Harry Kane as this year’s BBC winner, giving the striker odds of 8/5. Joshua is second with 2/1 before Yarnold (9/1), McIlroy (11/1), Murray (14/1) and Hamilton (18/1). Konta and O’Sullivan have the same odds as Hamilton, while cyclist Chris Froome stands at 20/1.

Down the list, Mo Farah has odds of 28/1, while Kane’s Tottenham colleague Dele Alli stands at 30/1. The unlikeliest winner of this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year award is Bianca Warden with odds of 80/1.


Originally from Africa, SportPesa has impressed English punters after arriving in the UK. The site features a load of sports you can bet on include some rare ones such as Gaelic hurling. SportPesa’s odds are quite competitive in today’s market and the variety of special promotions is what sets SportPesa apart from the rest of the bookies.

No surprises for the favourite for this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year award – Harry Kane is again the heavy favourite in front of Anthony Joshua (8/5 vs. 2/1). Yarnold is third on the list at 9/1 before McIlroy with 11/1 and former Wimbledon champion Andy Murray with odds of 14/1.

Lewis Hamilton, Johanna Konta and Ronnie O’Sullivan all share odds of 18/1 and are just in front of Chris Froome, who’s being given odds of 20/1. Tyson Fury is near the end of the list of favourites with odds of 66/1, with Bianca Warden and Joe Root being given the lowest chances of winning the award, both standing at 80/1.